3 Tips Directly From Online Sellers Who Have Experienced Massive Failure in Past


A wise man learns from his mistake. The wiser one learns from others’.

Which one of these 2 groups do you belong to?

Yes, the second one; we thought so!

To help you learn from others’ mistake, here we bring 3 tips directly from online sellers who have experienced big failures in the past. Learn from them and boost sales of your online stores seamlessly.

“I was a complete novice when I was starting. I had this notion that selling online was easy. So once when I was in the game, I was expecting big things. But soon reality it. Sales were low. Attracting new customers was very difficult. And the worst part was I had already invested a lot in my products and warehouse. So I felt like trapped. The first entire year was very bad and I incurred a lot in the loss.”

Lesson #1- It’s not easy. It never was!

“I naively chose to sell on multiple platforms. And it was a big mistake. My Walmart store was going pretty great and I wanted to expand. So I thought I will use Walmart Integration with open marketplaces and webstores to have multiple storefronts. Sadly, it wasn’t that simple like I thought. Handling inventories and the listing was very difficult. I felt like a train wreck. There was so much to do and but I couldn’t do anything. Too much pressure. I still remember for few months, I couldn’t sleep properly. Contrary to the plans, even though I had many online selling points, sales dipped significantly. Eventually, I had to shut down many storefronts, getting back just on Walmart and Amazon.”

Lesson #2- Never sell on more number of platforms than you can handle. If you do, make sure you’re signed up to third-party e-commerce solution.

“I am far from being a technical person. So the first challenge for selling on various marketplaces was understanding the technical ends for better optimization of products, To that, I was also extremely confused about how to integrate my stores with each other. I spent days to understand how to sync Shopify Jet.com. Turns out I wasted a lot of time understanding and managing the technical stuff, which greatly impacted my sales. I wish I hired professionals back then”

Lesson #3- Avoid doing everything all by yourself. Hire professionals and experts when needed.

About ChannelSale

Get assistance from ChannelSale for automated product listing, multi-channel ecommerce marketing program, optimizing and management of the product inventory data feed and much more.

Posted on October 11, 2017, in ChannelSale Software Solutions, Shopify jet.com and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

